Stage 6 – Years 11 & 12 – Subject Listing

Following is a list of subjects that may be offered for Preliminary Year and HSC. The final course offerings will depend on the pattern of selection for each cohort of students.

Students must study at least 12 Units in the Preliminary Year and 10 Units for the HSC, to be eligible for the Higher School Certificate.

Board Developed Courses

These are at 1 Unit (where marked) or 2 Unit level.  These subjects can all be included in a student’s ATAR.  They are all Category A courses.

  • Agriculture    2 Unit
  • Ancient History     2 Unit
  • Biology     2 Unit
  • Business Studies      2 Unit
  • Chemistry    2 Unit
  • Community and Family Studies   2 Unit
  • Drama       2 Unit
  • Economics      2 Unit
  • English Standard      2 Unit
  • English Advanced      2 Unit
  • English Extension 1    1 Unit
  • English Extension 2 offered in the HSC Year
  • Food Technology      2 Unit
  • French Beginners     2 Unit
  • French Continuers     2 Unit
  • Geography     2 Unit
  • Industrial Technology 2 Unit
  • Information Processes and Technology     2 Unit
  • Legal Studies     2 Unit
  • General Mathematics     2 Unit
  • Mathematics     2 Unit
  • Mathematics Extension 1   1 Unit
  • Mathematics Extension 2 offered in the HSC Year
  • Modern History     2 Unit
  • Music 1     2 Unit
  • Music 2     2 Unit
  • Music Extension offered in the HSC Year
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education     2 Unit
  • Physics     2 Unit
  • Senior Science     2 Unit
  • Studies of Religion     2 Unit
  • Studies of Religion     1 Unit
  • Textiles and Design     2 Unit
  • Visual Arts     2 Unit

Category B Courses Include:

  • Construction
  • Hospitality Operations

Students must study at least 12 Units in the Preliminary Year, and 10 Units for the HSC, to be eligible for the Higher School Certificate.  The school advises students not to undertake a course of study that meets the basic requirements.  We strongly recommend that at least 13 Units be studied in the Preliminary Year and at least 12 Units for the HSC.

Tafe Delivered Courses

Tafe offers a variety of Category B courses including

  • Accounting     2 Unit  (Board Developed Course)
  • Tourism     2 Unit (Board Developed Course)

These 2 Unit, two year courses, provide dual accreditation for students, ie in addition to contributing to the number of units for the HSC, students successfully completing the courses are issued with a TAFE Certificate.  Students must complete an application process in order to access these courses through McCarthy Catholic College.  Applications must be approved by the Catholic Schools Office.

Board Developed Vocational Education And Training (Vet) Curriculum Frameworks

 Courses in the VET Curriculum Frameworks can be studied as Preliminary and /or HSC Courses, and contribute to a student meeting the Board of Studies requirements for completion of the Preliminary Year and HSC Unit criteria.

They are Category B subjects, and if a student wishes to include 2 Units in these courses towards their ATAR, they must sit for the written examination at the HSC.  These courses provide dual accreditation for students, that is HSC and TAFE accreditation. Courses may include:

  • Construction     2 Unit
  • Hospitality Operations     2 Unit
  • Retail Operations     2 Unit

 The Australian Tertiary Admissions Rank (ATAR)

 The requirements for the Australian Tertiary Admission Rank (ATAR) are determined by the universities.  The ATAR is calculated by the Universities’ Technical Committee on Scaling on behalf of universities in NSW and the ACT.  A student’s ATAR is calculated from the scaled aggregate of the marks in the best 10 Units in Board Developed HSC Courses.  As from the 2006 HSC, to be eligible for an ATAR a student must satisfactorily complete at least 10 units of ATAR courses.  These ATAR courses must include at least:

  •  eight units from Category A courses
  • two units of English
    • three Board Developed courses of two units or greater
    • four subjects.

Students who do not meet the above requirements will not be eligible for an ATAR.

The universities categorise Board Developed Courses as either Category A or Category B.  To have an ATAR based on an aggregate of scaled marks in 10 units, students must have completed at least eight Category A units for an ATAR.  At least two units of English must be counted.