Key Learning Areas

McCarthy Catholic College offers a broad, comprehensive and inclusive curriculum that aims to allow students to develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes necessary to successfully participate in and contribute to Australian society. The College’s curriculum strives to clearly articulate a vision of life consistent with Gospel values and the teachings of the Catholic Church. The curriculum complies with the necessary legislative and statutory requirements as prescribed by law and mandated by the New South Wales Board of Studies.

The curriculum is structured across eight (8) key learning areas, with Religious Education being our ninth:

  • Religious Education
  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE)
  • Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE)
  • Technology and Applied Studies (TAS)
  • Creative Arts
  • Languages

Each Key Learning Area offers a range of subjects appropriate to the age and maturity of the students in each year level.

A detailed listing and description of McCarthy’s Curriclum offerings are provided on the following pages: